Home > Football > Late FA Cup final at least delayed start of ITV coverage

Late FA Cup final at least delayed start of ITV coverage

“Put it back! Put it back!”

Widespread criticism of the late kick-off for the FA Cup final today has been met with rebukes arguing that it meant people could enjoy their Saturday for two more hours before ITV ruined it.

Kick-off is at 5.15 pm after the football powers-that-be (television companies) decided this might help slightly boost the ratings.

This angered many who saw it as a slur on the most prestigious fixture in the English football calendar, tainting it still more than it already was by having Chelsea and Liverpool both participating.

James from Leeds argued, “I think the delay is a good thing because I like a lie-in on Saturdays and the last thing I want to see when I switch on my TV is a mixture of Adrian Chiles and adverts.”

But Dean from West Ham countered: “If kick-off had been kept at 3, my hangover from last night might have stopped me from taking in ITV’s awful pre-match coverage.

“Now it’s virtually impossible for me not to have sobered up, so the only option was to start drinking early in the hope that I might actually enjoy the travesty.”

  1. May 7, 2012 at 13:03

    Make what you want of this – http://jamiekendrick.wordpress.com/2012/05/06/liebster-blog-award/

    On a sidenote, I am subscribed to receive updates on your posts but I’m having to sign in to make a comment – what’s all that about?

    Enjoy

    • May 7, 2012 at 16:23

      Hello mate, that’s kind of you but I did that one a few months ago. Might do another one in a bit.
      I don’t know about the signing in thingy, could be the settings although I haven’t gone into much detail on them. Will have a look in a while also.
      Thanks very much for reading and for your kind nomination, I’ll be sure to post something shortly.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

