Home > Football > Pearce: “I’ve had enough of this England nonsense already”

Pearce: “I’ve had enough of this England nonsense already”

"I'm not that English, you know"

After taking charge of the international friendly defeat to the Netherlands, England’s Stuart Pearce has begged the FA not to give him the job in the long run.

Pearce was plagued by questions before and after the match as to whether he would be offered the position full-time, and he decided to distance himself from the rumours after Arjen Robben’s injury-time winner.

“I thought you lot would have realised by me picking Scott Parker as captain that I thought the whole thing was a bit of a laugh.

“When Darren Bent being injured limits your attacking options, you know you’re on a hiding to nothing.

“Plus the FA insisted that they wouldn’t pay me more than £2 million a year, which is akin to slavery compared to what my predecessor was on.”

  1. March 1, 2012 at 19:04

    Thought the game was okay – it’s a friendly where teams experiment – I seem to remember Germany always did badly before a tournement they went on well to do in – I’d rather we’d make our mistakes now and not in the Ukraine – That Van Bommel is a dirty player though

  2. March 2, 2012 at 13:53

    He always looks like a bulldog licking piss off a stinging nettle.

  3. March 2, 2012 at 14:41

    Conflicting views. Love it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

