Home > Football > Terry: it’s my duty to be hated and booed

Terry: it’s my duty to be hated and booed

November 14, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

England captain John Terry has responded to questions about how he will handle adverse treatment due to the ongoing racism allegations by pointing out that he normally gets booed and hurled abuse at anyway.

Terry will play for England against Sweden despite the overhanging cloud of the claims by Anton Ferdinand that Terry racially abused him in a Premier League game, this becoming the latest in an eternal string of negative stories to further taint Terry’s already despotic image.

When the FA let him speak Terry said, “I think I’m allowed to tell you my favourite colour is blue. Like Chelsea.

“The reception from the fans was as good as always – I clapped them and they told me where to go.

“The players also have been solid and united in showing their utter contempt for me in a way Wayne Bridge could only dream of.

“I certainly don’t think I’m undroppable, although the manager would struggle to find a stand-in who focused so much loathing and derision away from the rest of the team.

“Apart from Frank of course.”

  1. November 15, 2011 at 10:24

    I laffed at the colour blue bit!

    I reckon even the midwife booed him when he finally popped out.

  2. November 15, 2011 at 15:41

    “they told me where to go”! Terry sounds so innocent and harmless at press conferences. He must have good aides.

  3. November 15, 2011 at 17:16

    Ha yes true. I had to paraphrase him though.

  4. November 18, 2011 at 18:06

    Still a legend!

  1. November 20, 2011 at 10:48

Leave a Reply

