Home > Football > Match report: England vs Spain

Match report: England vs Spain

November 12, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Relive the (lack of) highlights from tonight’s game at Wembley where Spain took the meaning of ‘friendly’ matches to a whole new level by graciously succumbing to their labouring hosts.

Pre-match: Relief is abundant on the faces of the Spanish starting eleven when they see that John Terry in not selected and they therefore do not have to shake hands with him.

Minute 13: Frustration grows amongst the visitors when David Silva repeatedly gives the ball away, shocked upon realising Glen Johnson is defending well.

Minute 29: Sergio Ramos decides he might as well gives himself a rest till half-time and walks over to sit on the bench after not seeing any evidence of James Milner for the first half-hour.

Min 35: Play is halted as Sergio Busquets writhes on the ground. It is suspected that he has a (real or fake) injury but he is in fact laughing hysterically at an attempted through-ball by Phil Jones.

Minute 43: The linesman continues his excellent defensive display for England by imagining Silva is offside again.

Half-time: Cameras focus on Wayne Rooney in the stands looking very anxious and concerned. It is later established he is trying to add up the number of goals scored by each team without looking at the big scoreboard.

Minute 49: A mixture of amusement and horror spreads around Wembley as Frank Lampard steals Darren Bent’s goal on the line to put England ahead.

Minute 61: Bent is put clean through but blazes over. Claims he was put off by Gerard Pique singing Shakira songs in his ear.

Minute 75: Andres Iniesta yawns widely after running ten consecutive rings around Gareth Barry.

Minute 86: British humour creates confusion for Spain when Scott Parker is announced as man of the match.

Full-time: Stuart Pearce nudges Fabio Capello so that he realises the match is over. He had been snoozing since Theo Walcott’s first aimless run in the first-half.

  1. November 12, 2011 at 21:15

    Very good! The half-time Rooney bit made me snort a bit.

  2. November 13, 2011 at 00:38

    Cheers. You know I’m going to keep shooting till one finally slips in.

  3. October 20, 2012 at 18:59

    I do not even know how I finished up right here, but I believed this submit
    used to be good. I don’t understand who you’re but definitely
    you’re going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already.
    Cheers!

  4. October 23, 2012 at 20:29

    Great blog here! Also your web site loads up very fast!
    What host are you using? Can I get your affiliate
    link to your host? I wish my web site loaded up as quickly as yours lol

  5. December 26, 2012 at 14:50

    It’s really a great and useful piece of info.
    I am

    happy that you simply shared this helpful info with us.
    Please stay

    us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

  6. March 20, 2013 at 10:24

    I am curious to find out what blog system you have been utilizing?
    I’m having some minor security problems with my latest website and I would like to find something more risk-free. Do you have any suggestions?

  7. April 13, 2013 at 07:56

    I’m impressed, I need to say. Actually hardly ever do I encounter a blog that’s each educative and
    entertaining, and let me let you know, you

    could have hit the nail on the head. Your

    thought is outstanding; the issue is one thing that not

    sufficient individuals are talking intelligently about. I’m very

    glad that I stumbled throughout

    this in my search for something referring to this.

  8. April 23, 2013 at 15:20

    Wow, awesome weblog structure! How long have you ever been running a blog for?
    you made running a blog

    look easy. The total glance of your web site is fantastic, as well as the content material!

  9. April 24, 2013 at 19:51

    Its like you read my mind! You appear to grasp a

    lot approximately this, like you wrote the e-book
    in it or something. I

    think that you simply can do with some percent to

    power the message house a bit, however instead of that,

    that is excellent blog. A fantastic read.
    I’ll certainly be back.

  10. December 16, 2013 at 02:34

    Hello There. I discovered your weblog using msn. That is an extremely neatly written article.

    I’ll make sure to bookmark it and

    return to learn extra of your helpful info. Thank you for
    the

    post. I will definitely comeback.

  11. January 17, 2014 at 04:53

    I am really enjoying the theme/design of your site.
    Do you ever run into any browser compatibility problems?
    A handful of my blog audience have complained about my blog not
    operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in
    Chrome. Do you have any tips to help fix this
    problem?

  1. November 13, 2011 at 09:31
  2. November 13, 2011 at 10:40
  3. November 15, 2011 at 18:18
  4. November 20, 2011 at 10:48

Leave a Reply

