Home > Football > Howard Webb makes Ferguson’s greatest XI

Howard Webb makes Ferguson’s greatest XI

November 5, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

With the weekend of sycophancy over Fergie’s 25 years at Manchester United in full swing, referee Howard Webb has earned a surprise call up to many people’s greatest Ferguson XI.

Webb had to fight off fierce competition from other United legends – notably keeping David Beckham out of the side – and it is thought that his outstanding performances at Old Trafford over the years are what won him his starting berth.

An overwhelmed Webb gushed, “It’s all too much – I can’t describe how honoured I am to have made it into such an elite group of United players.

“Of course I’ve given everything for United when I’ve been selected in the past, but I didn’t expect that I would earn such recognition.

“I thank everyone at the club for their support over the years – especially Sir Alex – and I can promise that I’ll only increase my efforts in the future as I contribute to United’s hunt for yet more silverware.”

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

