Home > Football > United still trying to blame Clattenburg

United still trying to blame Clattenburg

October 24, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Following Manchester United’s humiliating derby defeat by City at Old Trafford, all those involved with the club have desperately been seeking justification to blame each of the six goals on referee Mark Clattenburg.

Despite often being a stalwart for United, Clattenburg was one of many playing for the side who simply did not produce the level of performance that was expected in such a big game.

Clattenburg defended himself by saying, “I understand everyone’s frustration but it was just one of those days when everything went against us.

“I let Anderson get away with clattering Micah Richards in the area, but if I disallowed all their goals I would have ruled myself out of crucial United games later in the season.

“I have to admit I allowed the boys to get beaten by the better team, but I’ll get over it and bounce back in the next match.”

Manager Sir Alex Ferguson admitted he was “shattered” by the result and made no attempt to hide his fury at Clattenburg’s performance.

“Normally we can rely on the referee but today he let everyone at the club down,” Ferguson stated regretfully.

“The red card to Johnny Evans was the killer blow. I don’t know what came over him to make the correct decision in that situation.

“I can’t believe it. Even as a player I don’t think the referee has ever allowed one of my teams to lose 6-1. It’s an incredible disappointment.

“The only good news I can offer our supporters today is that Clattenburg won’t be considered for next weekend’s match at Everton.”

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

