Home > More Sports > American football coverage makes late-night BBC1 viewers long for ‘X Factor’ cuts

American football coverage makes late-night BBC1 viewers long for ‘X Factor’ cuts

October 24, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

British viewers of BBC1 who are daring enough to switch on after the ‘News at 10’ are struggling to regain the will after being subjected to coverage of the annual NFL American football fixture played at Wembley last night.

The clash between Tampa Bay Buccaneers and the Chicago Bears, which would normally be expected to reach the heights of BBC3 at best, slipped into the scheduling late on Sunday night when insomniacs were hoping to watch a dubious European film.

Comatose Enid Rogers from Darlington murmured, “What happened? It was horrible. Worse than seeing something directed by Quentin Tarantino!

“The last thing I remember thinking before fainting from shock was how I wished I was watching talentless people embarrass themselves on ITV. I didn’t really want to wake up.”

Disgruntled Mick Hannell from Northampton ranted, “I read the description and the team names and I supposed it was some bizarre crossover of Winnie the Pooh and a spaghetti western.

“For one horrendous moment I thought I was watching a replay of the rugby world cup final, but then I realised all the people were crazy.

“I considered flicking over to Channel 5 and punishing myself by watching a Steven Seagal flick, but I guess I’m not quite at that point in the downwards spiral yet.”

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

